Long Luxurious Lashes

If your reading this I am sure you will agree that long luxurious eyelashes are absolutely f*cking fab!  A former mascara-addict, my quest for glamorous eyelashes has led me to find a more permanent solution, individual waterproof lash extensions.

It was 3 Halloweens ago when I applied my first pair of lash strips and it was love at first blink when I saw how they made my eyes pop!  Like a true junkie my addiction was no longer providing the same high it once did so I was on to the next.

 It has been a week and I am so enjoying my lash extensions.  The natural lightweight feel is altogether different from other lash enhancing techniques I have used in the past.  It figures my fave would also be the most expensive…SMH!

My Long Luxurious Lashes!

 Lash extensions not for you?  Check out some other enhancing techniques below and as always leave your comments below!

  Mascara

Application Time: 2 minute easy self application

Availability: most places you shop

Price Point: $1.00 -$15.00

Versatility: can be applied anywhere to achieve desired results

Cons: the potential for clumping, running, and smudging

My Fave: Maybelline Waterproof Lash Stilleto

 @ $6.94 this mascara delivers great non-clumping, lengthening, and volumizing results!

Quick Tip: Apply mascara from base to tip for maximum lengthening

 Eyelash Strips

Application Time: 2 minute easy self application

Availability: most places you shop

Price Point: $1.00 -$10.00

Versatility: can be applied anywhere to achieve desired results; you can choose from many different styles

Cons: strips have to be replaced often and may not adhere properly which causes slippage

My Fave: E.L.F. Eyelash Strips

 @ $1.oo these are by far the best lash strips I’ve used even beating out lashes that I have paid more than $5/pk for.  Expect to get at least 2 wears from each pack provided that you are gentle with the strips.

Quick Tip: Don’t bother with the glue in the package.  Instead use hair bonding glue for maximum results.  Quick and easy application and removal.

 Eyelash Clusters

Application Time: 30-45 minute moderate professional/self application

Availability: most places you shop

Price Point: $1.00 -$10.00 (self application) $25+ (professional application)

Versatility: must be applied in a controlled environment (home, salon, etc.)

Cons: no on the go application, clusters weigh the eye down, you have to avoid contact with your eyes to avoid loss, clusters must be replaced immediately or it will be very noticeable, and you may get glue in places you don’t want it (burns in the eye)

My Fave: E.L.F. Individual Lash Kit

 @ $1.00 per package these clusters are a great value compared to more expensive sets I have purchased.

Quick Tip: avoid applying clusters too close together or far apart to avoid them looking thick and fake.

Latisse®

Application Time: once a day for 16 weeks

Availability: prescribed by a doctor

Price Point: $120.00 (60 applications)

Versatility: must be applied in a controlled environment (home, doc, etc.)

Cons: must be prescribed by a doctor, must be used for a 16 week period to achieve maximum results, stopping will result in lashes reverting back to normal, expensive to maintain.  See a list of potential side effects here.

My Fave: Latisse®

 I have never used this product nor do I intend to.  Putting chemicals near my eyes on a daily basis makes me feel uneasy #kanyeshrug  :  /.  Although there are similar products on the market Latisse is the first and only to be FDA approved.

 Waterproof Eyelash Extensions

Application Time: 1.5-2.5 hrs first application / 45min-1.5hr re-fills

Availability: by appointment at specialty salons

Price Point: $150-$500 full set & re-fills

Versatility: must be applied by a trained professional

Cons: expense and long visits in the salon

My Fave: Hy Gorgeous Lash Bar

 I f*cking love-love-love my lash extensions.  They are absolutely worth the time and funds. I am very pleased with the natural yet exotic look.  Please visit my lash lady Alexandra @ the Hy Gorgeous Lash Bar at Garden State Plaza mall 1.800.917.1606 and don’t forget to tell them La Tonya Cook sent you : )!

 Long luxurious eyelashes add a sparkle to any face.  Which one of these enhancements have you tried or would be willing to?  Which one is your fave?

Leave a comment

  • Blog Stats

    • 18,711 hits
  • Blogger ~ L.T.